Tags

, , , , ,

Due to internet issues, this blog is a day late, sorry.

 

Now on to the good stuff. Pizza! This pizza is as good as delivery and about 1/3 of the price.

First, shopping! In the supermarket (I go to Stop and Shop) there are these packets of pizza dough for 1$. You just add 1/2 cup of hot water to this dough powder stuff and let it sit and you get easily malleable pizza dough. Also grab some pizza sauce if you like it and a block of whole milk mozzarella cheese. Then get anything you like on top of the pizza. My mom likes mushrooms, so I made a half mushroom/half no sauce pizza.

Heat the oven to 450. Once the dough is made, spread it out on a cookie sheet or pizza pan if you have one. Make sure there is olive oil on the bottom of the pan. Then rub olive oil on the top of the dough and add some spices. I put salt, pepper, rosemary, thyme, basil, parsley, and oregano on the dough. I like using herbs and spices that correlate to the flavors in the sauce. Now pop that into the oven for about 15 minutes. Basically just keep an eye on it to see the top get slightly golden.

Now get to adding the toppings. I added sauce to half of it and left the other half without, because I don’t really like sauce. I then sprinkled the cheese, which I half shredded and half cut up into little chunks (because I got lazy halfway through shredding), onto the pizza. I may have put more on the sauce-less side, but hey, I’m the cook so I get more. 🙂 Then just put on the topping and put it into the oven until the cheese is all melted. Keep a close eye on it though because the cheese goes from done to burnt really quickly.

And despite what this picture looks like, I totally didn’t drink a whole bottle of wine with my pizza. Totally. For real. You don’t believe me, do you? Perceptive little bastards. Okay, so pizza! Enjoy!

-The Kitchen Queen

 

