Tags

, , , , , ,

What’s better than pancakes for dinner? ALCOHOLIC PANCAKES FOR DINNER!

Okay, sorry, got a little excited there. Anyway I was messing around in the kitchen because I was hungry and we had frozen blueberries that I wanted to do something with.

I decided on having pancakes but we were out of syrup so I thought of making my own with the blueberries instead of putting the blueberries in the pancakes.

I started with making a simple syrup by boiling 1 cup of water with 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of granulated sugar. I put a whole cinnamon stick in it and a splash of vanilla. Once the mixture came to a rapid boil, I took out the cinnamon stick and added blueberries. I didn’t measure how many blueberries I put in, I just filled the pan.

At this point I noticed that there was not enough liquid to be a real syrup for the pancakes, so I added some cognac. And drank some, then added some more.

I let it boil some more to become nice and thick. To thicken it more I added a bit more sugar and some salt to cut the sweetness and draw the water out of the blueberries.

It was so good. Then I made pancakes, but used milk instead of water in the mix to make them all fluffy. I also like to add cinnamon sugar to the pancake mix.

Enjoy!

-Kitchen Queen

