Tags

, , , , , , ,

Besides adding salt to fruit to make it better, I also add sweetness to veggies to make them better.

My old school, Chester College of New England (may you rest in peace) had the best dining service team ever! One thing there that I loved was the maple carrots.  I never got the recipe from them, but I tried out some things on my own and they came out pretty snazzy.

First I used baby carrots because they’re cute and I can eat them while I’m cooking. I start off by steaming them a little, just so they are a bit tender to the touch, but not cooked.

I then add them to a pot with enough maple syrup to almost reach the top of the carrots. Now season with cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, salt, and pepper. Boil til the carrots are the right consistency for you. I like a little bite to my carrots so I take them out early, but some people like em all squishy, so they can go longer. The carrots take on the taste of the maple syrup well and the spices add the right balance of sweet and savory to the dish.

I forgot to take a picture of this one, so no visual cues, sorry.

Enjoy!

-The Kitchen Queen

